Situated in a valley surrounded by three volcanoes, Antigua Guatemala is an enchanting colonial city. It was founded in 1543 as the capital of the Spanish colony which was made up of six provinces: Costa Rica, Nicaragua, San Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala and southern Mexico. At Antigua's height, there were 32 churches, 18 convents and monasteries, 7 colleges, 5 hospitals and a university. In 1773, a devastating earthquake destroyed most of the city, and the capital was forced to relocate to modern-day Guatemala City. In 1979, Antigua Guatemala became a ¡UNESCO World Heritage Site. Today, whether you want to spend your day at a coffee finca , hike nearby volcanoes, shop for textiles in the famous Antigua market, or enjoy world-class dining, Antigua has something for you!

Antigua Guatemala